
SUBCHAPTER 4.  COMMENCEMENT OF APPEAL HEARING  

19:42A-4.1   Right to appeal; notice of right to appeal 

(a)  Any licensee, applicant for a license, or registrant who is aggrieved by a final action of the 

Division shall have the right to appeal to the Commission.  Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 5:12-63(b) and 

107(h), an appeal may be taken from the following Division actions:   

 1.  A notice of violation and penalty assessment issued upon any applicant, qualifier, 

licensee, or registrant; 

 2. A ruling on an application for a casino service industry enterprise license pursuant to 

N.J.S.A. 5:12-92;  

 3. A ruling on an application for any other license or qualification under the Act;  

 4.  Revocation of a license or registration;  

 5. A ruling by the Director regarding a request for a statement of compliance pursuant to 

N.J.S.A. 5:12-81(a); and 

  6.  Placement on an exclusion list.   

(b) All appeals from final actions of the Division shall be heard by the Commission, or 

designated hearing examiner, in accordance with the Act, the UAPR, and this chapter.    

(c)  The Division shall provide any party against whom final action is taken with notice of their 

right to appeal to the Commission. The Division shall also provide the Commission with  

notification of an appealable matter by mailing a copy of the final action to the address set forth 

at N.J.A.C. 19:42A-4.2(a).  Upon receipt of the final action from the Division, the Commission 

shall mail an appeal request form to the party against whom final action was taken. 

 

 



19:42A-4.2   Commencement of appeal hearing; extension of time to appeal 

(a)  Any party may appeal a final action of the Division by filing with the Commission a written 

request to appeal.  Such written request shall be filed by hand-delivering or mailing an appeal 

request form within 20 calendar days of the Commission’s notification to the party of the party’s 

right to appeal to:  

  New Jersey Casino Control Commission 

  Document Control Unit 

  ATTN: Hearings and Appeals Unit 

  Tennessee Avenue and the Boardwalk 

  Atlantic City, New Jersey 08401   

One copy of a request to appeal shall also be simultaneously submitted to the Division and any 

other party.  The appeal will be docketed upon receipt by the Commission and acknowledged in 

writing. 

(b) Any request to extend the time to appeal a final action shall be made in writing to the 

Commission’s Document Control Unit, ATTN: Hearings and Appeals Unit, at the address 

specified in (a) above.  The Commission may, upon a showing of good cause and in the absence 

of prejudice, or in the interest of public policy, extend the time within which a request to appeal 

may be filed for an additional 20 days.    

(c)  Upon receipt of a party’s request to appeal, the Commission shall provide the appellant with 

an opportunity to submit a Case Information Statement.   

 

 

 



19:42A-4.3 Record on appeal 

(a)  The record on appeal shall include all papers and exhibits, including audio and video 

recordings, on file with the Division, together with all entries as to matters made on the record, 

the stenographic transcript of the proceedings at the Division, and all papers filed with the 

Division hearing examiner. 

      1. Within 20 days of the service upon it of a notice of appeal the Division shall file a 

statement with the Commission of the items comprising the record on appeal and shall serve a 

copy thereof on each party to the appeal and shall file a copy of the items comprising the record 

with the Commission. 

(b)  A party who questions whether the Division’s hearing record is complete shall apply on 

motion to the Division to settle the record.  The Commission or its designated hearing examiner, 

on a party’s motion, may review such determination or, in the Commission or designated hearing 

examiner’s own discretion, direct correction of the record. 

(c)  If at any time during the pendency of an appeal, it appears that evidence not adduced in the 

proceedings before the Division may be material to the issues on appeal, the Commission or its 

designated hearing examiner, on its or his or her own motion, or on the motion of any party, may 

order, on such terms as the Commission or its designated hearing examiner deems appropriate, 

that the record on appeal be supplemented by the taking of additional evidence and the making of 

findings of fact thereon by the Division. 

 

19:42A-4.4   Case Information Statement form 

(a)   A Case Information Statement shall be in a format prescribed by the Commission and shall 

require the appellant to provide the following information: 



 1.  Appellant’s name; 

 2.  Appellant’s current address and telephone number; 

 3.  Names of all parties involved; 

 4.  A brief statement of the facts and procedural history; 

 5.  The proposed issues sought to be raised on appeal;   

 6.  Any legal objection to the decision, including, but not limited to, constitutional issues, 

statutory authority, and/or regulatory authority; and 

 7.   Whether the appellant wants an opportunity to present oral argument.   

  

19:42A-4.5 Filing and service of Case Information Statements, briefs, and motions 

 One copy of all Case Information Statements, briefs, and motions filed pursuant to 

this chapter shall be served on all parties, and proof of such service shall be appended to the 

original, which shall be filed with the Commission. 

 

19:42A-4.6 Time for filing and service of briefs 

(a)  The appellant may serve and file a brief in support of the appeal within 20 days after the 

hearing record has been deemed established by the Commission or within such time as the 

Commission orders, whichever is later.   

(b)  The respondent may serve and file an answer brief within 20 days after service of the 

appellant’s brief or within such time as the Commission orders, whichever is later. 

(c)  The appellant may serve and file a reply brief within 10 days after service of the 

respondent’s brief or within such time as the Commission orders, whichever is later.   

 



19:42A-4.7   Dismissal of appeal; withdrawal; effect of stipulation on appeal 

(a) An appellant shall provide any information that is requested by the Commission, and failure 

to provide such information may result in dismissal of the appeal.  The Commission may at any 

time on its own motion, or on motion of either party, dismiss an appeal if the appellant fails to 

cooperate or maintain contact with the Commission during the pendency of their appeal or if the 

Commission determines that the motive for filing an appeal was frivolous or improper.   

(b) An appellant may withdraw an appeal at any time prior to the issuance of the Commission’s 

or its designated hearing examiner’s decision, whereupon the Commission or its designated 

hearing examiner shall discontinue all proceedings and notify all parties accordingly. 

(c) An appeal may be settled at any time prior to issuance of the Commission or its designated 

hearing examiner’s decision, provided that the parties notify the Commission or its designated 

hearing examiner of any settlement and file the dispositive stipulation with the Commission or its 

designated hearing examiner, whereupon the appeal shall be dismissed.     

 


